SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > General Wireless Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2011, 05:30 PM
sinman02 sinman02 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sinman02 is just starting out
Default RT-N56U as access point with DIR-655

Hello all. Hope I can get some info and advice here regarding this... I'm not a network engineer so forgive me if I'm not using all the proper terminology. I just ordered the RT-N56U from amazon. I'm hoping to use it primarily to extend the wireless range in my three level home where the connection and cable modem comes in through the basement. I currently have a wired connection to most of my bandwidth hogs but I couldn't get every room hard wired so I have to rely on my wifi connection for these areas. My dir-655 does an adequate job giving me enough bandwidth for basic tasks but not enough to stream video to my second floor master bedroom where I don't have a hard wire connection. I'm hoping to use one of these routers as a wired access point to extend the wifi from my basement by connecting it to my gigabit ethernet connection in my office on the second floor. I'm hoping that doing so will enable me to get enough wifi bandwidth to my master bedroom.

Given all the extra features of the RT-N56U, is it better to use it as my primary router in the basement to take advantage of all the features? i.e. If I use the RT-N56U as the access point, will I still be able to use features like print sharing (my printers are in my office), NAS, ftp, media server, HW acceration (for devices connected directly)? One reason that I may want to use the RT as the access point is that it only provides 16 MAC filters whereas the DIR has 24. Another is that I don't think the DIR has an access point mode so setting it up as one would make me lose a connection port on the switch. Lastly the DIR doesn't have print server function so I would lose that if the RT was in the basement (My printers don't have networking capabilities).

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2011, 09:14 AM
sinman02 sinman02 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sinman02 is just starting out
Default

nothing???
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2011, 12:29 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4,026
Thanks: 1
Thanked 271 Times in 260 Posts
stevech is just starting out
Default

To cover three levels in your home, you will likely need a second WiFi device, located on the 2nd or 3rd level. This is functionally an Access Point (AP), as an adjunct to your main WiFi router. Any WiFi router can be re-purposed as an AP, or you can purchase an AP. Place the AP and connect it to the WiFi Router via (1) cat5 cable if possible; (2) a pair of HPNA devices that move your LAN from the WiFi router to the AP's location via home power wiring; (3) MoCA, same as HPNA but via TV coax cable in the walls. See the MoCA/HPNA section in this forum.

You might also try placing the WiFi router on the middle floor of course, but typically you'll have a weak signal in the lowest level doing it this way.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:00 PM.

Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  366
thelonelycode...  167
stevech  149
L&LD  128
azazel1024  112
KGB7  78
Adamm  71
jim769  71
speedingcheet...  58
jlake  49
RMerlin  4461
stevech  271
ryzhov_al  199
TeHashX  194
RogerSC  165
L&LD  163
joegreat  105
jlake  101
PrivateJoker  93
sinshiva  87
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  30141
Old ASUS...  19892
Old Beta Version...  17308
Old 'Heartbleed'...  13603
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  9868
Old Linksys...  7831
Old Potential...  7719
Old Asus-Merlin...  6652
Old Groundhog...  6230
Old Linksys...  4693
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  215
Old Linksys...  139
Old ASUS...  112
Old Beta Version...  112
Old Potential...  98
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  93
Old Linksys...  61
Old Groundhog...  49
Old Asus router...  43
Old New Home...  38



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.