SmallNetBuilder Forums
Go Back   SmallNetBuilder Forums > Wireless Networking > ASUS Wireless > ASUS N Routers & Adapters

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #771  
Old 02-16-2012, 12:25 PM
hggomes hggomes is online now
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 348
Thanks: 26
Thanked 94 Times in 64 Posts
hggomes is just starting out
Default

I have compared them, these are the same ORIGINAL files pffff LOL, but with different "names".

ASUSWRT = ORIGINAL FW

Last edited by hggomes; 02-16-2012 at 01:10 PM.
  #772  
Old 02-16-2012, 01:12 PM
njweb njweb is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 295
Thanks: 85
Thanked 27 Times in 16 Posts
njweb is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by small_law View Post
OK, about the signal strength issue with .96, I noticed that you can now increase the "tx power adjustment" setting in the Wireless-Professional screen. I set it to a higher value and signal strength is strong again.

Question: what value should be set for each network? What's the maximum? I'm new to this, so bear with me. Thanks.
That was essentially my question too, what is the maximum safe TX power level (assuming the displayed values are actually reflecting the power it is outputting, i.e. no display bugs and that the unit is accurately calibrated as well).
Online research yielded some typically safe values, but each router desiign is different (and amps play a role too), so I woud love to know for THIS router. what TX power level range is considered safe, for both short-term and LONG-TERM reliability (I would hate to have it die shortly after the warranty expires).

I am happy using 40mW (with my older firmware 2nd of the 4 release so far), but if 80mW (or 100) is still safe, then I could at least experiment a bit. :-)
  #773  
Old 02-16-2012, 01:33 PM
darksamus darksamus is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
darksamus is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by njweb View Post
That was essentially my question too, what is the maximum safe TX power level (assuming the displayed values are actually reflecting the power it is outputting, i.e. no display bugs and that the unit is accurately calibrated as well).
Online research yielded some typically safe values, but each router desiign is different (and amps play a role too), so I woud love to know for THIS router. what TX power level range is considered safe, for both short-term and LONG-TERM reliability (I would hate to have it die shortly after the warranty expires).

I am happy using 40mW (with my older firmware 2nd of the 4 release so far), but if 80mW (or 100) is still safe, then I could at least experiment a bit. :-)
Wouldn't it be best to set the 5ghz TX power higher than the 2.4ghz since it needs more power to travel longer distance?
  #774  
Old 02-16-2012, 01:52 PM
njweb njweb is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 295
Thanks: 85
Thanked 27 Times in 16 Posts
njweb is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksamus View Post
Wouldn't it be best to set the 5ghz TX power higher than the 2.4ghz since it needs more power to travel longer distance?
Since 40mW was the max in the older firmwares (i.e. till now), I had not really played with it/. In fact I have not gone back to any of the config screens since the day I got my router about a month ago.

So until one of the other posters alluded to that today (the one I quoted I believe), I was not even aware the TX power values could be set independently for each band (nice touch Asus).

Yes, logically that makes sense - setting it higher for 5 GHz, but since 5 Ghz is inherently limited due to the 5Ghz frequrency limitations, even higher power *may* not help once you get to a certain point (whatever that level is).
I guess experimentaiton, within safe limits (whatever those are), could answer the question.
  #775  
Old 02-16-2012, 01:53 PM
BailA BailA is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
BailA is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by though View Post
Latest Toastman Tomato "Mega" released today:

http://www.4shared.com/get/FiMSXLTl/...3MIPSR2-T.html
Bandwitch limiter work with this version?
  #776  
Old 02-16-2012, 03:07 PM
aurelijusb aurelijusb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 33
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
aurelijusb is just starting out
Default

I am going to buy E4200, this RT-N66U have too much bugs...
  #777  
Old 02-16-2012, 03:08 PM
though though is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 85
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
though is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aurelijusb View Post
I am going to buy E4200, this RT-N66U have too much bugs...
the asus software does (currently). the hardware rocks, just use an alternate software or wait for asus to fix their bugs.
  #778  
Old 02-16-2012, 03:20 PM
darksamus darksamus is offline
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
darksamus is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aurelijusb View Post
I am going to buy E4200, this RT-N66U have too much bugs...
There is nothing wrong with the hardware, its just Asus can't write good software.
  #779  
Old 02-16-2012, 03:20 PM
G37x G37x is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 151
Thanks: 5
Thanked 24 Times in 14 Posts
G37x is just starting out
Default rt-n66u vs E4200

Guys,

Is the asus a better hw choice?


please comment.

thanks,
g37x
  #780  
Old 02-16-2012, 05:19 PM
jabloomf1230 jabloomf1230 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jabloomf1230 is just starting out
Default

Well, I was contemplating converting my RT-N66U to Tomato USB, like I did with my RT-N16U, but I'm glad that I waited. This morning, I looked at the router and all the status lights were off. The power supply blue LED was rapidly flashing, rather than being lit steadily. No amount of plugging, unplugging (different outlets) or using the reset button matters (hard or soft). I'm now in the ASUS RMA process. I bought the router from SuperBiiz and they only have a 30 day RMA period, which of course ran out a few days ago. The router worked perfectly for exactly 34 days. And I can't use another power supply, because ASUS has a smaller plug, probably because of the higher DC V.

Fortunately, I was only using the 66 as an AP off of the 16, so my wireless network is not completely wrecked. I've read other places that the RT-N66Us overheat and fail, but my router was in a nice cool, open location, so I don't think that was the problem.

Any thoughts, condolences, humorous anecdotes?
Closed Thread

Tags
asus rt-n66u

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Top 10 Stats
Top Posters* Top Thanked
RMerlin  362
L&LD  163
azazel1024  156
stevech  134
ChristineBCW  117
john9527  115
hggomes  84
dirtyclyde  65
TonyH  64
4Leaf  52
RMerlin  5890
stevech  344
john9527  303
ryzhov_al  274
TeHashX  230
L&LD  223
RogerSC  195
sinshiva  146
joegreat  126
sfx2000  124
Most Viewed Threads* Hottest Threads*
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  35326
Old Shellshock...  23570
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  19766
Old Does...  11995
Old T-Mobile...  9754
Old Most stable...  7133
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  6138
Old RT-N66U...  6070
Old Can't trust...  3987
Old New...  3073
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  171
Old Asuswrt-Merli...  89
Old Does...  70
Old Antenna...  62
Old T-Mobile...  61
Old RT-AC87R (U)...  42
Old USB N...  37
Old Most stable...  37
Old Simple NAS...  37
Old Range: G vs...  31


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2006-2014 Pudai LLC All Rights Reserved.