SmallNetBuilder

Follow SmallNetBuilder
Follow SmallNetBuilder on TwitterConnect On Facebook Google+Get the SmallNetBuilder RSS Feed
You are here: User Reviews

User reviews

Back to Listing
Ratings (the higher the better)
Features*
 
Performance*
 
Reliability*
 
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
41 results - showing 1 - 41
Ordering 
 

Amazing Performance and Rock Solid Stability

Overall rating: 
 
4.7
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by Kishel Raj
August 24, 2014
Report this review
 

I purchased this just recently after reading reviews and this thing is extremely rock solid in terms of stability.

I have been torrenting non stop and using this as a seedbox and it works just fine. I had issues getting download master to work initially on torrents with multiple files, but the chrome extension and a firmware update fixed that issue.

It has been running 24/7 for almost a month now with it being used as a seedbox and a make shift NAS with content streaming from my WDTV live. No connection drops or restart required so far.

 

Very, very disappointed

Overall rating: 
 
2.7
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
1.0
Reliability:
 
3.0
Reviewed by Yasen Velichkov
December 10, 2013
Report this review
 

So I had ASUS RT-N12E router at home and decided to switch to something better. There were great prices for for RT-56U so I decided to give it a try after reading a lot of benchmarks and reviews for this legendary model.

At 2.4G RT-N12E my desktop (with ASUS PCE-N15 - same Realtek chip as the one in RT-N12E) was at -53 dB and the average download speed was 75-85 Mbps.
With RT-N56U I get -62 dB with same position of router and desktop and something like 30 Mbps, the link speed is 300 Mbps in both cases.

I've tried to adjust the position of the RT-N56U as it doesn't have external antennas to play with... and the given results are my best ones. Checked the differences with other devices too... same thing.

Generally I'm very disappointed with the 2.4G range and of this device. Yes, it's true - the performance of the router itself is great but I needed a better device in terms of wireless range and the 25$ router is just much better.

 

After a few quirky firmwares, this thing got some balls in the later release

Overall rating: 
 
3.7
Features:
 
3.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
4.0
Reviewed by Zeus
September 18, 2013
Report this review
 

I dusted this off to give it another try, sure glad I did. After downloading and updating the firmware I have zero drops and super-fast speeds.

Now Asus just needs to do some additional performance tweaks and it would be the best one I have. Sure they're busy with the newer stuff right now tho.

 

There is one custom firmware

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by SpeedingCheetah
September 09, 2013
Report this review
 

This thing is super powerful with this custom "tweaked" version of the Asus firmware.
I get much better throughput. 113MB's wired file transfer and 20-25MB's over 5ghz wifi.

Can u belive I got this used on ebay for $25!!!!


ASUS RT-N56U/RT-N65U custom firmware
https://code.google.com/p/rt-n56u/

 

Amazing for under $100

Overall rating: 
 
4.7
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by T
August 31, 2013
Report this review
 

Have owned this router 4 months now and has never overheated, or dropped signal. The FTP service works amazing and has a way better range than my old router i bought from my internet service provider. (NEVER BUY ISP EQUIPMENT!!!) the only thing this router is missing is multiple ssid's but has everything else a SOHO network would need.

 

Overheating problem

Overall rating: 
 
3.3
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
2.0
Reviewed by chris
August 02, 2013
Report this review
 

it overheats at summer time at about 20c outside
lags a bit when playing lan games

 

Two lemons in a row? Or flawed design... I don't know

Overall rating: 
 
3.0
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
1.0
Reviewed by Steven Morehouse
June 11, 2013
Report this review
 

I had my first one for just under 2 years when it started having mad drop-outs. Luckily it was under warranty (just) and they RMA'd it and send a replacement. But that lasted all of 2 hours before it had similar issues. That had me thinking it must be something other than the router, so I had my modem replaced, my cables replaced... even my pc's motherboard replaced (although that was because it fried, not as an intended diagnostic). Eventually I went out to BestBuy and bought a $30 D-Link and no problems so it has to be the router(s). It won't stay running for 10 minutes before having to reboot it. Total crap and they now won't RMA the 2nd one because its now over the 2 years. What BS. I'm done with Asus and am baffled how SNB ranks them so highly, especially considering the MASS amounts of negative reviews describing constant drop outs.

 

Poor Product, Poor Support

Overall rating: 
 
2.3
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
2.0
Reliability:
 
1.0
Reviewed by Carter
June 09, 2013
Report this review
 

Wireless is terrible. Support is terrible.

Max throughput on 2.4GHz is 1Mbps (to the home network, not the internet), no interference, within 5' and this is only when you can get a connection to the router. Tried to contact support as I thought there might be a hardware issue (one of the antennae broken for example), they were no help at all and dragged out the issue past the warranty point where I could have gone back to the store for a simple exchange.

I would not, in good conscience, recommend this device to any of my clients based on poor product performance and even poorer support from Asus.

 

Overheats

Overall rating: 
 
3.7
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
3.0
Reviewed by Jeff
March 08, 2013
Report this review
 

The more wireless devices you connect, the hotter this thing gets until you start getting disconnections. My only workaround has been to disable the 5GHz band. With only one band running, the disconnects don't happen. Otherwise, this would be a stellar unit. I am waiting until the price of the RT-N66U comes down to upgrade to that. I haven't heard about that having the same problems.

 

Signal,Bandwidth,Signal dropping and no Guest network

Overall rating: 
 
1.3
Features:
 
2.0
Performance:
 
1.0
Reliability:
 
1.0
Reviewed by Bharath
February 13, 2013
Report this review
 

I bought this router to serve my purpose but it did not. As soon as i bough this Flagship router costing around 8K for a router which seems to be real expensive without much features built in it.
Negative experiences:-
1. 5GHZ signal radio does not work when we cross just 1 wall which is about 20mts.
2. Firmware seems to be unstable always (In Download master link is been uploaded but doesn't show the status but says that it already exists.
3.No Guest Network available on the Flagship model.
4. No AI cloud, but only available on (RT-N60, RT-N65U, RT-N66U and RT-AC66U)
5. File Transfer rate seems to be slow.in local network.....

Positive experiences:
1. Customer service reacts and tries to provide a firmware to fix the issues.
2. Asus Products have never failed in build quality and performance.
3. Beautiful design but needs tweaks to improve the routers.
4. Download master is an amazing stuff on a router for people who often downloads.
5. Setup is very quick.

Conclusion:
Finally i have decided to upgrade the router with and Asus RT-AC66U, to get all the benefits and to see the best performance coming out of this monster which is recommended from Asus.
You will find my experience on this router RT-AC66U very soon.....

 

Great little router

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by Joseph
January 04, 2013
Report this review
 

I've had Zero problems with this router. I did cheat a little and used the alternate firmware located at this web site. http://code.google.com/p/rt-n56u/

 

Running Fine

Overall rating: 
 
3.7
Features:
 
2.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
4.0
Reviewed by Fred
December 29, 2012
Report this review
 

I've been running this router since march and it have never dropped a connection.
Only problem I've had with it is that it's impossible to access the web config when throughput is over ~250mbit/s.
And that the config page constantly refresh itself.
The downside with this is the lack of settings, firewall rules/port forwarding and so on.

 

Poor Config - Constant dropped signal

Overall rating: 
 
1.0
Features:
 
1.0
Performance:
 
1.0
Reliability:
 
1.0
Reviewed by annoyed
December 01, 2012
Report this review
 

Can't stand this piece of crap - won't hold a signal properly - constantly drops connection when attempting to copy files across network. Much slower than expected - max 1.5 Mbs when it works for 5gz but the signal strength is so low that it can't be used outside the same room as the router 2.4gz is ok, but not much better then my old 11g dlink

 

Direct Connect Great - Wireless Not

Overall rating: 
 
2.3
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
2.0
Reliability:
 
1.0
Reviewed by Orp
November 16, 2012
Report this review
 

Read many reviews and forums before selecting RT-n56u. Was great for direct connect via a Cat 5e Initial wireless connection was great also. But than over a short time it started to have a couple of wireless disconnects. A couple of disconnects end up being several over the day. Unit got really hot to the touch. Turned it off and let it cool down overnight. Next morning it was great. By the evening it heated up and the wireless disconnects started again. Very feature rich but not stable for wireless. Yes I did upgrade firmware to the latest even call customer service. Needs heat sinks or better yet a fan as the convection cooling of the unit does not happen. Though about building a paper chimney to enhance the convection cooling, but returned unit. My next one will have a fan.

 

A HUGE disappointment

Overall rating: 
 
2.3
Features:
 
3.0
Performance:
 
3.0
Reliability:
 
1.0
Reviewed by Balex
August 20, 2012
Report this review
 

Purchased this router based on the glowing reviews. It was easy to setup and worked amazingly well for 2 whole days and then the constant disconnects and timeouts that many are complaining about in the ASUS forums began. It's on the way back to Amazon back to square one on my search for a router replacement.

 

Proven Solid after more than a Year!

Overall rating: 
 
4.3
Features:
 
3.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by Mr2Much
June 25, 2012
Report this review
 

I purchased this router more than a year ago (April 2011) when I caught it on what seemed like a pretty good deal (

 

Warning: not for users who need more than 32 port forwards or...

Overall rating: 
 
3.7
Features:
 
3.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
4.0
Reviewed by erkme73
May 19, 2012
Report this review
 

static DHCP assignments... I was quite impressed with web page load times. Much better than any router I've ever used. However, I have a fairly elaborate IP camera security system with nearly 30 cameras. I've never used a router that had hard limits on the number of ports your can forward, and no mention in any of the reviews or forum comments suggested an issue. But...

If you try to add more than 32 port forwards, you'll get a "This table only allows 32 items!" error. Same thing happens when you try to add more than 32 static DHCP clients.

For the cost and the available horsepower of this thing, you'd think this is a joke. I sent an email to Asus, and their answer was:

"This is corect. This is a high end home router. You need something more enterprise class for that many forwarded ports and reserved addresses."

I just wonder how many "homes" will run up against this limit. I suspect we're not too far away from most homes needing more than 32.

Anyway, the 3rd party firmware has the same limits. A real shame. I don't know of any workaround that involves keeping this thing.

 

Not Bad, but

Overall rating: 
 
3.3
Features:
 
2.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
4.0
Reviewed by Madman Blackbeard
May 03, 2012
Report this review
 

Thought there would be more features than what it had, I could have bought an Airport extreme and had more bandwidth and more tools like SNMP, and the ability to setup the network from my iPhone... Still not a bad router, just not great. Plus with th 802.11ac coming up I would rather wait and buy cheaper... for now. I think I'll stick with the Apple products....

 

Best bucks ever spent!

Overall rating: 
 
4.7
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by mirek
May 03, 2012
Report this review
 

Got it set up and humming in a couple of hours. Using Bell Fibe service for TV and internet/networking before. It was a complete disaster using their modem/router. Now the TVs are in a separate network from the rest of the home and finally things are working as they should.

Wireless range in very good despite my home being a metal clad bunker (circa 1920's) with metal lath and plaster construction.

Love it.

And the price is right!

 

Always Something Unusable for Sale

Overall rating: 
 
1.0
Features:
 
1.0
Performance:
 
1.0
Reliability:
 
1.0
Reviewed by Artie Welstom
April 10, 2012
Report this review
 

Had a Netgear wimax N300 yet wanted something with Qos so could prioritize wireless VOIP. STUPIDLY went with Asus. Web interface easy, setup a breeze. Speed no better than my Netgear on n (no 5gHz to test) and range notably worse. The signal for VOIP couldn't make it 50 feet without breaking up or causing echos on phone calls. I tried everything with firmware upgrades and Qos changes to make this thing work. Perhaps it's an acceptable modem, but for stuff like wireless VOIP (and prob media), it's a dog. Final straw: At 2 months, simply moved it to a different spot to try to improve signal in my condo. Plugged back in, power on but otherwise dead. I took my old Netgear 300N and plugged it into the very cables that did nothing for the ASUS, and got better VOIP and same wireless speed. Cannot recommend for VOIP or condo use. No response from ASUS on "2 year warranty". Junk.

 

a great device !

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by Max
April 06, 2012
Report this review
 

I'd like to thank smallnetbuilder for their complete review which encourage me to buy that device... I'm coming from a netgear once with a LOT of issue, and connections lost... thanks to this ASUS device my home network is now fully stable and really powerful.. don ot have any doubt, just buy it and see the difference ! thanks and cheers.

 

ASUS RT-N56U

Overall rating: 
 
4.0
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
4.0
Reviewed by LevelUp Systems
February 24, 2012
Report this review
 

Amazing, affordable device...

***To anyone losing connection to the LAN/WAN***
If you have older devices on the same network as newer devices that use the 5Ghz channel, you will find the router will attempt to switch between channels, causing loss of connectivity

It's best to configure the router to use separate SSID's for EACH Channel. (Ie. MyLAN_24 and MyLan_5) I have not had any issues after making this change.

Transfer speed:
USB - Roughly 10-15 MB/s which is great if you stream media over wireless. My LAN will connect @ 300Mbps, not sustained with transfer of course, but still manages to get about 25MB/s wireless transfer speed.

Gigabit wired LAN is great, much better for larger transfers...

I like the unique layout of this routers GUI, but there could be a few improvements, such as password masking for security, and the ability to copy MAC addresses for DHCP reservation and MAC Filtering (Which it DOES have!)

If you're looking for an affordable, decent, reliable router, this little gem looks great, and has a tonne of potential.

The option for TWO USB ports is great as well, but i WOULD NOT use for USB Printers, as this technology has always been flaky at best, especially with multifunction units.

Currently I have two laptops, two smart phones, two consoles(Wii/PS3) and my desktop PC utilized this router, with decent performance

 

ASUS RT56

Overall rating: 
 
4.7
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
4.0
Reviewed by AB
January 19, 2012
Report this review
 

Good device.

 

Pretty good

Overall rating: 
 
3.7
Features:
 
3.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
3.0
Reviewed by Jason
January 15, 2012
Report this review
 

I used to have a cheap router (dir-625), this new one has literally twice the range of my old one. It is pretty good performance wise. The features are a bit lacking as I wished it had more features and the features like displaying real time bandwidth is kind of limited as it does not tell which computer exactly is using what bandwidth,does not have decent history setting and I can't move the graph (its displayed as a graph) around.

Reliability, there has been some issues over the months but usually updating the firmware will fix the problem (UPDATE IS GOOD).

Heck, there is a custom firmware that you can find (uses same GUI as original but has better performance) if you search in the forum link in this page.

Overall its a great router as long as you use the custom one its better / update official firmware (Most of the problems ARE EASILY SOLVABLE BY USING THE NEWEST FIRMWARE, note that the newest firmware addresses most of these problems in the previous reviews except features (which I think will be coming soon along with a GUI change)

 

Huge disappointment

Overall rating: 
 
1.7
Features:
 
2.0
Performance:
 
2.0
Reliability:
 
1.0
Reviewed by Mark
January 05, 2012
Report this review
 

Until recently I have been using a trusty old Motorola WR850G. For six years it had been running practically non-stop without a single glitch, disconnect, or mysterious need to re-boot. After upgrading my data plan from 30mb to 100mb she just couldn't handle the new speed and this ASUS device was brought in to replace her. All I can say is what an utter disappointment. Like so many others on ASUS's own support forums I too suffered WAN disconnects continuously. Tried all the firmware versions I could find to no avail. ASUS support had very little to say other than RMA the device. I went to a different tech and got a hold of a beta firmware that cured the WAN disconnects. But the literally dozens of other problems that people have been complaining about for months aren't close to being fixed.

The web based UI looks like it was made for an eight year old. Setting up DDNS was a disaster. UPnP is flaky at best. Trying to use an external USB hard drive is a here today gone tomorrow proposition. In the end you only get a butt load of aggravation and a useless black box with pretty blue lights. Needless to say I returned the thing. Replaced it with an Apple AirPort Extreme (5th Gen) and everything just works.

 

Been Flaky for me

Overall rating: 
 
3.3
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
1.0
Reviewed by Stewart
December 07, 2011
Report this review
 

When my D-Link dual-band failed after 2 years I went looking for a replacement and settled on the Asus. While performance is good when it's working, it seems to regularly loose connections to some of the clients fairly regularly (daily.) With 4 adults in the house I have ~7-10 devices connected to it at any one time. I'm getting tired of the complaints that 'the network is down'. Thinking it might just be a flaky individual, I sent back my original unit to Amazon for a replacement. The new one isn't much better.

I'm going to send it back to Amazon and try the Netgear N900 I think.

 

wol

Overall rating: 
 
3.0
Features:
 
1.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
4.0
Reviewed by Leon
November 30, 2011
Report this review
 

WOL through WAN is not supported.

 

Access control features are terrible...

Overall rating: 
 
2.7
Features:
 
1.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
3.0
Reviewed by Rob Poretti
November 12, 2011
Report this review
 

Without schedules, this router is not appropriate with anyone that has children - hmmmm I wonder what size of the marekt that is...

There is no way to turn off and on the internet based on schedules...

I guess this kind of MAJOR feature was not only missed by the manufacturer but also the reviewer...

I'll be returning mine...

 

Great Hardware

Overall rating: 
 
4.7
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by Neil
September 01, 2011
Report this review
 

This thing is blistering compared to the DLink I replaced. I'm seeing substantially improved wired gigabit performance (25% at least) and much more stable as well as speedier wireless connections.

Web UI is more intuitive than most, but could use a few more tweaks.

 

Asus RT-N56U

Overall rating: 
 
4.0
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
2.0
Reviewed by Lamarr
August 27, 2011
Report this review
 

My router is having those time out problems with limited connectivity. The signal strength and speed are fa nominal. But they need to work out the problems. I like it and I don't want to take it back but if it keeps happening it will be back on the shelve at the store i bought it from!!!!!

 

one of the best in current days

Overall rating: 
 
4.7
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by suman
August 01, 2011
Report this review
 

Nice router. recently got that from amazon.com still have no complaints. its a fast router work like charm. easy UI makes less works to change configuration and troubleshooting.

 

Uses Google DNS, embedded into firmware

Overall rating: 
 
3.0
Features:
 
1.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
4.0
Reviewed by nowaytoday
July 03, 2011
Report this review
 

Latest firmware 1014m seems to fix some security issues. Problem is that embedded in the firmware the router is using google DNS server of 8.8.8.8 and there is no way of stopping it from being used. I use open dns and by the router using google dns it circumvents open dns security that I have set up. For the life of me why Asus did this is beyond me, that is a big thumbs down. If I had know this I would have never purchased this unit.

 

Pretty fast, but problem with security

Overall rating: 
 
3.7
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
2.0
Reviewed by Dody Suria Wijaya
May 21, 2011
Report this review
 

Pretty good wifi router, at least can easily deliver 3-4x speed through wifi compared to my old verizon/westell 54mbps wifi router, if not for the following issue:

1) router sometimes crash and restart itself when I plug in USB HDD with NTFS partition

2) there's a big security problem that present at least until 1.0.1.5 (current firmware at the time of this writing). Everyone (connected through wifi or LAN) can login to the admin panel by visiting http://192.168.1.1/QIS_wizard.htm?flag=detect
and the user/pass is displayed clear text -_-

Acer, please fix this and get my 5 ratings!

 

The best router for home users!

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by Adi
May 09, 2011
Report this review
 

This router is the fastest routers for home using. Have a lot of power in 2.4 and 5ghz and it's simple to administrate. I like the stability in wireless connections, and performance it's superior than atheros chipset. It'a a gigabit router that can support many clients.
The speed in browsing is very very good! Excelent!.
Excelent NAT hardware.
Excelent wireless dBm
Excelent design.
Excelent powersource.

 

Performance vs. Features

Overall rating: 
 
4.0
Features:
 
3.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
4.0
Reviewed by m4ilm4n
April 26, 2011
Report this review
 

I just purchased this router to replace my old D-Link, based mostly upon this review and the comments posted here. I was looking for performance more than features, and this router delivers - it is FAST. The interface is OK, but not great. I have not had an opportunity to explore the features in-depth, but they seem somewhat limited. The MAC filter tables are limited to 16 entries (that's a drawback to those who use them).

All in all, I'm pleased with this router.

 

Works with Comcast!!

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by jroc74
March 26, 2011
Report this review
 

I had a WRT54GL and it didnt work with Comcast good, but worked fine with RCN. Strange...

This works fine with Comcast. And the range is alot better. I couldnt use wifi on my phone in the bedroom or bathroom that good or on the PS3 at all in the bedroom (a one bedroom apt with the router in the living room)

I dont like that you cant edit the port forwarding sections. With this router you HAVE to do static IP's with devices that you want to connect if you need to do any port forwarding. With my 54GL, I could just go in and edit the IP part and save it.

With a carpet it can fall over easy if hit.

 

Advanced features not ready for prime time

Overall rating: 
 
3.0
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
2.0
Reliability:
 
2.0
Reviewed by Greg
March 23, 2011
Report this review
 

As long as you don't try the advanced features this is a fast, stable wireless router. If you need more than the bare basics, the firmware becomes unstable and it may brick. No alternative (dd-wrt, tomato) firmware exists.

First thing I did on opening the router was to update to their latest firmware 1.0.1.2. Then started testing the features.

For example: tried the usb hard-drive feature Asus calls "Plug-n Share Disk". Their US web-site states this model supports Fat32,EXT2,EXT3,NTFS, Fat16. Tried all the formats except Fat16 on several drives. If you try to assign permissions, the web interface of the router hangs. The device then becomes unstable and once it bricked with just power light working in spite of trying power cycling. Had to be resurrected with firmware restoration tool. Phone support (about 1 hour hold) has nice folks who will tell you that ext2 is the only format that will work and if that doesn't work it must be a problem with your hard drive. E-mail and online Asus chat were not helpful.

Other interesting features included: only can assign DHCP 192.168.1.x. addresses. Also noticed you can only can assign 8 static IP's. When I use it only as a wireless access point and use another device (running dd-wrt) as DHCP server and router it is quite stable and fast. Has 8Mb memory so potentially might be able to run dd-wrt someday.

System log has interesting-to-read entries such as:"Disabling erase-suspend-program due to code brokenness." and "partition "Kernel" extends beyond the end of device ".

 

surprisingly great router

Overall rating: 
 
4.7
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by Brian Kiser
March 17, 2011
Report this review
 

I have had a lot of routers, mostly Linksys, but my last two Linksys routers seemed to lose connection. For a long time, I thought it was my ISP. So I read multiple good reviews of this router, and especially liked this Small Net Builder review, and I bought it. Wow, it is WAY faster than my old WRT-610n router (2-3 years old now). The user interface is pretty, thing is fast, and I really have no gripes with it, except one: A lot of us out there don't care about appearances. I'd personally prefer a plain box design. For me, it's ALL about the performance, and this router has it.

 

RT-N56U > all

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by Robert
March 15, 2011
Report this review
 

Some history:

Before I started researching routers and modems, I blindly purchased Netgear products almost exclusively in the past and they all fell short of my requirements. This was because I'm a torrenter and a gamer, both of which open many p2p connections and my past Netgear products would always crash and reboot.

So I started researching and bought a Draytek Vigor 2700g. Best decision I ever made (until I bought the RT-N56U, that is). In time, I moved on from ADSL2+ and needed a new router. With great hesitation, I bought the WNDR3700 (yes, Netgear) based on the numerous reviews online that put it on a pedestal higher than God himself. Wireless range was nothing special (compared to my Draytek 2700g before it) but I did notice within the first day of using it that it was considerably less stable than the Draytek. Daily dropouts became normal. I knew it only had a 4096 NAT table when I purchased it, but I was willing to give Netgear the benefit of the doubt. I shouldn't have.

So I sold the Netgear and bought the Asus RT-N56U. Daily dropouts became a thing of the past. In fact, in the 2 months that I've owned it, it has not ever dropped out on me not even one time. 5 people use the internet in my household for email, gaming (pc), gaming (console), torrents, chat, streaming, etc. The wireless range is leaps and bounds better than the WNDR3700.

 

Amazing performance!

Overall rating: 
 
5.0
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by Ron
March 10, 2011
Report this review
 

This was an impulse buy, since I already had a Cisco E-4200 router. The review on this site made the ASUS router too intriguing to pass up, and I'm glad I purchased it. My Internet speeds on SpeedTest.com are consistently >60 Mbps, a full 10 Mbps higher than through any previous router. The setup and configuration interface is among the best-looking, most feature complete and most intuitive I've used, and a firmware update went as smoothly as one could ask. At this very early stage, I'm very impressed.

 

First week with RT-N56U

Overall rating: 
 
4.7
Features:
 
4.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
5.0
Reviewed by RGS
March 05, 2011
Report this review
 

So far, great. This unit replaced a DIR655 which was giving me no end of connection issues with the WAN. The Asus unit WAN connection is rock solid and fast, the only issue I encountered was during the setup phase, where it became apparent that Asus expects people somehow know the IP address of the router without putting it in the paper documentation anywhere. Not an insurmountable problem, but definitely an annoyance that could have easily been avoided. Wireless performance seems solid and fast across a vertical distance of 2 floors and a 30 foot offset.

As many people have observed, a wall mount option would be nice, however a small discreet shelf will serve the purpose. I am, at this point, more satisfied with this unit than any router I have had in the last couple of decades.

 
41 results - showing 1 - 41