SmallNetBuilder

Follow SmallNetBuilder
Follow SmallNetBuilder on TwitterConnect On Facebook Google+Get the SmallNetBuilder RSS Feed
You are here: LAN & WAN LAN & WAN Reviews Draytek Vigor 2920 Reviewed

Draytek Vigor 2920 Reviewed

Print E-mail
Prev - Page 1 of 4 - Next >>

Introduction

Updated 12/29/2010: Updated VLAN support info
Updated 12/13/2010: Updated web content filtering pricing

Draytek Vigor 2920

At a Glance
Product Draytek Vigor 2920 Dual-WAN Security Router (2920)
Summary Wired dual-WAN router with 4 port 10/100/1000 Ethernet switch, VPN endpoints and FTP to USB drive
Pros • Dual-WAN and 3G WWAN Support
• Up and downlink bandwidth control
• Gigabit LAN with Jumbo Frame Support
Cons • Slow file transfer rates with USB FTP
• Documentation lacks examples

The Vigor 2920 is a new router from Draytek, an update to the previously reviewed 2910.  The 2920 is one of three models in Draytek's 2920 line. A “V” in the model name means the router has 2 FXS ports for VoIP applications, and an “n” in the model name means the router has 802.11n wireless capability.  I'm going to cover the base level 2920.

Draytek calls the 2920 a “Dual-WAN Security Router,” aptly identifying its key differentiating features of multiple WAN ports and a highly configurable firewall.  The 2920 has some improvements over the 2910, such as much higher routing throughput, greater USB functionality and Jumbo Frame support, but also moves to a subscription based Content Filtering service as opposed to the free service on the 2910.

Inside

The 2920 is enclosed in a black plastic case measuring 9.375” wide by 6.5” deep and 1.625” high.  It is a table top design with rubber feet.  All the ports and indicator lights are on the front of the device, shown in Figure 1.

Front view of 2920

Figure 1: Front view of 2920

The back of the router has the power connector and a power switch.  The power cable has a smaller wall wart that plugs into an AC outlet.  I always appreciate a power switch.  If you're power cycling  a device, it is better to be able to use a switch than to have to pull out the cable and plug it back in.

Rear view of 2920

Figure 2: Rear view of 2920

Draytek states the 2920's chipset is the Infineon Danube chipset.  The CPU is an Infineon 32 bit 133/266 MHz, coupled with 64 MB SDRAM and 8 MB of Flash memory.  An Atheros AR8316 Gigabit switch handles the four LAN and one of the two WAN ports.

Vigor 2920 board

Figure 3: Vigor 2920 board

There is no cooling fan, making the 2920 completely silent.  This is a nice feature for a device running in an office or on a desktop.  The case seems large enough to permit decent airflow, and it never seemed warm to the touch during my testing.

Configuration

Draytek surprised me with new firmware midway through writing this review, which changed and or added functionality to the 2920.  This new firmware, v3.3.6, adds new menu options, USB file and printer functionality, increased WAN functionality, jumbo frame capability, and changes several other features and functions on the router. 

The release notes for this new firmware are on the download section of this web page here and an updated User Manual can be downloaded using the User's Guide link on the product page. Draytek also summarizes v3.3.6 in this press release and has a online simulator. Note, this simulator is based on the original firmware, v3.3.1. 

I hope Draytek adds examples to future user manuals  There is a FAQ section on their website with more detailed explanations. But it's hard to bounce around from one source to another to figure out how to configure a device.  As I mentioned in my review of the 2910, Draytek's documentation is challenging to follow because it lacks examples and clear explanation on how to configure desired functions.

The menu in the 2920 is quite detailed, with 14 different menus, each with 3 to 11 submenus.  Table 1 shows you the menu tree.

Menu tree

Table 1: Menu tree



Related Items:

Cisco RV180 VPN Router Reviewed
LAN Section
Pretty Cheap VPN: TRENDnet TW100-BRV214 4-Port VPN Router
Cisco RV042 v3 Dual WAN VPN Router Reviewed
Draytek Vigor 2830n plus Dual-WAN ADSL2/2+ Security Firewall Reviewed

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

NOTE! Please post product reviews from actual experience only.
Questions, review comments and opinions about products not based on actual use will not be published.

User Rating    [Back to Top]
Overall: 
 
3.8 Features :
 
4.6 Performance :
 
4.0 Reliability :
 
2.8
 
Ratings (the higher the better)
Features*
 
Performance*
 
Reliability*
 
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 

Slow administration Screens

Overall rating: 
 
4.3
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
4.0
Reviewed by Fabian
October 14, 2012
Report this review
 

I have 2 Vigor (2920 and 2920n).
The main router is the 2920n that has all the rules, filters CMS, objects, NATs and 3 internet connections (2 through other routers and the 3rd with USB 3G).

The 2920 is one of the routers that is cascadatig of the 2920n. The 2920 has only 2 router-modem in bridge way. This router only provide internet connection and has the DMZ of the 2920n.

The point is that the 2920n is so much slow the configuration, each screen late many sconds (20, 30 and 40 seconds), while the 2920 has the response time about 1 or 2 seconds.

I updated the firmware to the version 3.6.0 Release Date: 11th July, 2012, and the problem continue.

Thanks
Fabian

 

Same issues as below, but on 2830

Overall rating: 
 
3.7
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
5.0
Reliability:
 
1.0
Reviewed by Daaave
March 28, 2012
Report this review
 

I have the 2830 model - and I have exactly the same issue as erik & Randy. After an hour or two of use, the draytek starts to seize up, gradually timing out page requests leaving some websites accessible, and others not. Google will be inaccessible, whilst facebook is fine. Then a few mins later the facebook will be down. Then youtube will stop etc etc. Eventually everything just grinds to a halt, even though the ADSL & DSL connections are fine.

I do have lots of users (up to 60 at peak time) but surely this is exactly the sort of setup the Draytek is designed for.

A software reboot doesn't do anything, neither does a power-off reboot unless you leave it off for over half a minute.

I'm not very technical, but it does seem to me to be a DNS issue. I've emailed draytek support. If I get an answer, I'll post it.

Other than that, the 2830 is a fantastic product. Once I've got this issue sorted, I'll be buying many more.

 

LANWAN Routing Problems

Overall rating: 
 
3.3
Features:
 
3.0
Performance:
 
3.0
Reliability:
 
4.0
Reviewed by Symon
November 04, 2011
Report this review
 

I bought 2 of these routers to connect 2 sites over a 100Mb ethernet circuit and provide basic
routing between the sites, but despite many hours of playing with the config I cannot get these two devices to provide effective routing (I have previously setup other routers on the same connection without a hitch).

For example, if I try to ping form a device on one subnet across the Vigor routers to the other subnet I get no response. This lack of connectivity/communication is true for other traffic types. Perhaps I was ill-advised by Draytek sales that these routers would be suitable for this scenario. Can anyone offer any words of advice please?

 

Alike issue here Hangups with enabled BW management

Overall rating: 
 
3.7
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
2.0
Reviewed by erik
September 06, 2011
Report this review
 

Hello,
i also implemented this router with BW management.
for the moment on a single cable-internet connection 120/10 Mbit
made a general session limit at 500 sessions and al general speed limit at 1500/10000 kbps (up/down)
After some hours the router doesn't relay dns requests any more while DNS servers are quite well pingable from router GUI.
Is this issue solved allready in beta's mentioned above by draytek support ?

 

I bought one of these

Overall rating: 
 
4.0
Features:
 
5.0
Performance:
 
4.0
Reliability:
 
3.0
Reviewed by Randy
June 08, 2011
Report this review
 

I bought one of these, based entirely on the review here on snb. I got it hooked up with my 6meg DSL and 50meg cable connection, and it worked pretty good. I liked the features. Then I did a firmware upgrade. The new firmware added so much functionality that it was like a whole new router! I loved all the new features, they blew me away! It's like there are features here for noobs, for power users, and also features useful in enterprise applications, all at the same time, all in one router. The most awesome part, for me, are the checkboxes for each of the protocols I want to disable, I can disable torrents, or web hdd, or each of the IM clients, with a mouse click. There are too many features to list. The CSM is great, and the Bandwidth Management is great.

But on the downside (and it's a big downside for me), whenever I enable bandwidth limits, or limit the number of active connections for users, the router locks up in less than one hour, and needs a hard reboot. Presumably some buffer somewhere is full and needs clearing. I do this when somebody's running torrents and killing all my upstream. The router has a power switch on the back, but flipping off the power for a minute and then turning it on does not do the trick, the router will still be locked up. The power cable has to physically be unplugged for at least 30 seconds, then plugged in, and then it usually comes back up ok. I got a digital block-heater timer and put my router on it so it is physically rebooted every day at 6am, but even that fails once in a rare while and needs another hard reboot.

Would I buy this router again? I don't know. I love what it does, I am absolutely in love with the feature set, and this router can handle a lot, as long as it does not have to limit people running torrents, because at that point it will totally crap out.
====
[Response from Draytek]
Hello Randy, This is Iwiz from Draytek Support team. We sincerely thank you for your just review. About lock up issue we'd like to konw it's due to high temperature or softeware related Bandwidth. Could u please send 2920's cfg file for us test? By the way, our latest fw is 3.3.6.1 or if u want to try our latest beta please kindly contact us support@draytek.com we will support u till all issues are cleared. Thanks. We are looking forward to ur feedback. BR, Iwiz .